Tri-Valley Conservation Awards

Model Girl 1

The Tri-Valley Conservation Awards is a program that recognizes voluntary efforts to improve the water environment of the three valleys. It is organized by the two Conservation Foundations (Mississippi Valley and Rideau Valley) and the three Conservation Authorities (Mississippi Valley, Rideau Valley and South Nation) in our area.


2011 Winners

  • Russell McLelland,
  • Churchill Alternative School, Ottawa
  • Joyce Chartrand, Ecole publique de la rivière Castor, Embrun
  • St Thomas Aquinas Catholic High, Russell (
  • Chris Drummond,Nepean High School, Ottawa
  • Carleton University, Dr Steven Cooke
  • Université de Guelph, Campus Alfred
  • Lawrenceholme Farms, Spencerville
  • Gordon Garlough, Williamsburg
  • Parmalat, Winchester
  • McGarry Family Chapels, Ottawa & West Quebec
  • Tay Valley Township (First Place)
  • Lanark County Community Forest Working Group
  • Friends of the Tay Watershed
  • Westport & Area Outdoors Association
  • Jim McCready, Carleton Place
  • Aleta Karstad & Dr Fred Schueler, Bishops Mills
  • Hans von Rosen
  • Irv Dardick
  • Floyd Dingwall
  • Click here for 2011 Tri-Valley Winners Press Release

2010 Winners

  • Cindy Saucier (Russell)
  • Joe Slater (Crow Lake)
  • Nature Works Learning (Almonte)
  • Pratt and Whitney Canada (Ottawa)
  • Nation Municipality (Casselman)
  • Norm Tinkler (Inkerman)
  • Christian Laflèche (St-Albert),
  • TagwiSecondary School (Avonmore)
  • National Defence Headquarters Fish & Game Club (Ottawa)
  • Grenville Land Stewardship Council (Prescott)
  • Pleasant Corners Public School (Vankleek Hill)
  • Click here for 2010 Tri-Valley Winners Press Release

 2009 Winners

  • Featherston Drive Public School, Ottawa, Maggie Lemay, Ottawa
  • GeoVentures Program, Perth & District Collegiate Institute, Perth
  • Laflèche Environmental, Moose Creek
  • Lindley McPhail, Russell
  • McDonald’s Corners ReUsers, Lanark Highlands
  • Oak Valley Pioneer Park Volunteers, Mountain Township
  • Pingrove Productions, Lanark Highlands
  • Rideau Valley Field Naturalists, Perth
  • Spring and Fall Cleaning the Capital, City of Ottawa
  • Stanlee Farms, Jim & Nancy Wert, Avonmore
  • St. John Catholic Elementary, Perth
  • PEAK Progrm, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic High School, Russell
  • Tom Van Dusen, Russell
  • Click here for 2009 Tri-Valley Winners Press Release

 2008 Winners

  • Dr Frances Pick, University of Ottawa
  • Drummond Central School, Perth
  • Dundas Environmental Awareness Group, South Mountain
  • Fisher Park Public School, Ottawa
  • Gaston Patenaude, Berwick
  • Long Island Marine, Kars
  • Meadowview Public School, Addison
  • Michael Walters, West Carleton
  • Ottawa Region Media Group, Ottawa
  • Otty Lake Association, Perth
  • St Michael Catholic High School, Kemptville
  • Tom Manley, Homestead Organics, Berwick
  • Township of Lanark Highlands, Lanark
  • Click here for 2008 Tri-Valley Winners Press Release


Tri-Valley Conservation Award

2011 Conservation Winners Unveiled (pdf)  
2011 Tri-Valley Conservation Awards Program(pdf)  
2011 Tri-Valley Conservation Awards Nominations Forms   
   — French
   — Map
   — Nov. 1, 2011 News Releas

Conservation Award Winners 2010
An informal and festive atmosphere, eleven of our fellow citizens and business people were recognized their outstanding voluntary contributions to the environment the press release for more.

June 2010 — Wanted: Nominations for the Tri-Valley Conservation Awards!!!!
Nominations are being accepted in eight categories:

  • Primary School (JK-Grade 6);
  • Intermediate/High School (Grade 7-12);
  • College/University;
  • Agriculture;
  • Community Groups;
  • Individuals;
  • Businesses;
  • Municipalities

Deadline for applications is Sept. 8, at 4:30 p.m. download the 2010 Nomination Form (PDF).

For information, contact Charles Billington at
1-800-267-3504 || 613.692-3571 ext. 1124 or

April 2010 — Third Tri-Valley Awards to be Held in South Nation Watershed

The 3rd edition of the Tri-Valley Conservation Awards Gala is still several months away on Oct. 20… but it’s time to start thinking about likely nominees.
Deadline for applications is Sept. 8, at 4:30 pm. Nominations are now being accepted in eight categories: Primary School (JK-Grade 6); Intermediate/High School (Grade 7-12); College/University; Agriculture; Community Groups; Individuals; Businesses; Municipalities.
Projects which nominees could be involved in include tree planting, water quality protection, shoreline stewardship, conservation education and advocacy, natural beautification and other activities contributing to the health of the watersheds. Partners in the awards are Rideau Valley Conservation, Mississippi Valley Conservation, and South Nation Conservation. This time out, the gala event celebrating awards winners will be held in the SNC watershed at the authority’s new conference centre in Finch.
Available for community functions, the centre is tailor-made for the awards night which will give SNC a chance to show it off to a wider audience, said board of directors chairman Ken Hill who’s also chairing the awards gala.  
“The Tri-Valley Awards are gaining recognition and prestige as they go along,” Hill said. “It’s becoming a badge of considerable honour in Eastern Ontario environmental circles to win one. We’re delighted to be hosting the gala this year.”
Emphasizing that they’re a credit to their home municipalities and to the region, Hill underlined the high caliber of candidates, finalists and eventual winners of the awards over the first two years.
The tri-valley area covers more than 12,000 square-km, from Perth, to Bon Echo, to Pakenham, into Ottawa and east to Plantagenet, and south to Morrisburg. Close to 1 million people live in the combined watersheds.
For more information: Gord Shaver, SNC, 1-877-984-2948, ext. 296. 


Past Winners of the RVCF Conservation Award

2006Susan O’Brien-MacTaggart and the Bobs and Crow Lakes Association

Honourable Mentions:

  • The Friends of the Rideau
  • Ken Watson — Rideau Information Website
  • Leeds Stewardship Council (Lake to Lake Project)

2005 — Eric and Cheryl Ruhs (North Grenville) and Brian and Less Billings (Balderson)

2004Monterey Inn Resort, Ottawa, Canada's First Carbon Neutral Company

2003Friends of the Tay Watershed; Honourable Mention to Lori Gadzala and Douglas Frosst

2002Environment Committee of Ottawa South and Muskies Canada (Ottawa Valley Chapter)(Shoreline & habitat protection along the Rideau)

2001 Rideau Environmental Action League (REAL) 10 years of environmental community leadership

2000 Mutual Association for the Protection of Lake Environments (MAPLE) Honourble Mentions: David Crowley (Lifetime Achievement)

1999 — Friends of the Jock River (Watershed Stewardship)

Proud members of

Contact Us

For more information on the Rideau Valley Conservation Foundation, please call or write at 613-692-3571 ext 1124 or

Donate to the RVCF

Donate Now Through!

To donate to the Rideau Valley Conservation Foundation, simply click on the "donate now" buttone above. RVCF is a member of ‚ Canada's platform for donating and fundraising online. Trusted by Canadians and charities for over 14 years.